“The idea that folk music needs to exist in glass boxes is what tends
to hold it back. Emilyn and John have a tremendous way of progressing
folk music that is respectful but at the same time so freeing and
playful. I wouldn’t be surprised if these tunes and arrangements are
played for generations to come. It’s very hard to be unique, but
Emilyn and John have such personality and playfulness that makes for
an incomparable record…quite literally, there’s nothing else that
sounds like it!” – Tom Power, CBC

“There’s a whole lot to enjoy here. Stam and Williams play with colourful and expressive nuance, and their enjoyment of what they’re doing is palpable. Much instrumental virtuosity is on display here too but it’s all in good service to the music… This is creative, witty and beautiful music making.” – Alison Melville, WholeNote Magazine

Ingenious, witty…” – fROOTS Magazine (UK)


Emilyn Stam and John David Williams merge the melodic voices of violin and clarinet, creating a modern sound steeped in tradition. Their individual and collective interests in Klezmer, New Orleans Jazz, Old Time, Bluegrass, French and Scandinavian folk musics give insight to their playful and innovative duet compositions. Not limited to original music, their repertoire often has a strong connection to traditional dance, and explores a wide palette of sound through various combinations of violin, clarinet, accordion, harmonica and piano. They first started playing music together as members of the Lemon Bucket Orkestra. Currently John also leads the 6-piece old-time jazz band The Boxcar Boys and Emilyn tours with Italian diatonic accordion virtuoso Filippo Gambetta. Emilyn and John’s duo CD features all original instrumental compositions and they have toured this music throughout Canada and Europe.

Check out their individual websites for more info:


Order our new album! (Click here)


 Emilyn Stam and John David Williams, 2015


1. Waltz from Hawaii Bar
2. Circle Jig
3. The New Rule
4. Stupid Blues
5. Penguin Pie
6. Toni and Mischa
7. Honey Blues
8. If I Were a Duck
9. Sleepless Waltz
10. Parkul Cișmigiu
11. Trains in Holland

All music composed by John David Williams and Emilyn Stam

Recorded and Mixed by James Stephens in Chelsea, QC
Mastered by Philip Shaw Bova
Artwork by Rhonda Nolan